Courtney Pine CBE to receive Gold Award at 2021 Jazz FM Awards


The awards ceremony will be presented by Jazz FM DJ Anne Frankenstein, with categories reflecting the mix of jazz, soul and blues on the air at Jazz FM, as well as the recognition of the live sector with venues, festivals and more recently online innovations (particularly in lock-out). out) to be honored as well as two other special categories, the Impact Award and Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be announced in the coming weeks.

Courtney Pine, who previously received an OBE and a CBE for services to music, has been a leading figure in the British jazz scene since the 1980s, with a prolific and internationally renowned solo career. He joins previous Gold Award recipients Herbie Hancock, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Norah Jones, Dame Cleo Laine, George Benson, Pat Metheny, Georgie Fame and Ahmad Jamal.

Commenting on the price, Pine said: “I would like to sincerely thank all the dedicated members of Jazz FM for recognizing me in this way. An award of this magnitude to someone like me is incredible, I never thought I would be recognized for trying to play jazz in the UK in this way. I am deeply honored and truly realize the importance of a young person from North West London receiving this Gold Award during these times. The United Kingdom stands tall.

The nominations for all award categories are as follows: Blues Act of the Year: Eric Bibb, Marcus Bonfanti and Ruthie Foster. Revolutionary act of the year: Jas Kayser, Nathaniel Cross and Secret Night Gang. The digital price: Bandcamp Fridays, Jazz Re: freshed and Kansas Smitty’s. The price of innovation sponsored by Reya’s Mishcon: Blue Note Re: imagined, EFG London Jazz Festival and SAULT. Instrumentalist of the year: Amanda Whiting, Daniel Casimir and Ed ‘Tenderlonious’ Cawthorne. International Jazz Act of the Year: Christian McBride, Gary Bartz and Maria Schneider. Soul act of the year: Ego Ella May, Jon Batiste and Omar. Singer of the year: Celeste, Ego Ella May and Georgia Mancio.

The Public vote The categories are Album of the year: Fergus McCreadie’s Cairn, Floating Points, London Symphony Orchestra and Pharoah Sanders’ Promises, by Jon Batiste WE ARE, by Matthew Halsall Hello to the sun, Nubya Garcia’s Source and SAULT: UNTITLED (Black is). British Jazz Act of the Year: Archipelago, Emma-Jean Thackray and Fergus McCreadie.

The awards are organized in association with PRS for Music and PPL.

For more information see


About John Crowder

Check Also

Lakers vs Jazz – NBA Game Recap – November 7, 2022

SALT LAKE CITY — Lauri Markkanen scored 23 points, Jordan Clarkson added 22, and the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.